Farmington area teen, adult artists win annual awards

The City of Farmington Hills Cultural Arts Division, the Farmington Area Arts Commission, and the Festival of the Arts Planning Committee recently named recipients of the 2019 High School Student Art Competition Awards and the Farmington Art Foundation Spring Exhibit Awards.

The recipients will be honored at the Festival of the Arts Reception and Awards Ceremony on Friday, April 12 at the Costick Center at 28600 W. 11 Mile Rd. in Farmington Hills.

These high school winners were chosen by Farmington Area Arts Commissioner Ted Hadfield, an accomplished artist and owner of Artpack Services, Inc. of Farmington Hills:

Best in Show

Camille Compton, Mercy High School

2019 High School Arts Awards Best in Show
Camille Compton’s Best in Show piece is titled “Never Ending Job”. (City of Farmington Hills)

Honorable Mentions

  • Deja Green, North Farmington High School
  • Melinda Modzel, Harrison High School
  • Karenna Ratze, Home Schooled
  • Logan Partridge, Farmington High School
  • Avalon Barr, Mercy High School
  • Katherine Wildern, Mercy High School
Karenna Ratze Kaloomma Scarft
Karenna Ratze‘s “Kaloomma Scarf” won honorable mention.

Another 20 works by these young artists will be exhibited in the 2019 High School Art Competition show: Katherine Wildern, Mercy; Grace Ho, Harrison; Melinda Modzel, Harrison; Cyan Shreve, Harrison; Lauren Valli, Farmington; Katie Kim, Mercy; Sojourner Posch, Mercy; Ava Rapp, Mercy; Selina George, Mercy; Phelan Storck, Mercy; Hannah Smith, Home Schooled; Jordan Bonn, Farmington; Heather Opperthauser, North Farmington; and Jonathan Puscas, North Farmington.

Green Amphora by Ava Rapp
“Green Amphora,” by Ava Rapp, was selected for exhibit. (City of Farmington Hills)

The 2019 Farmington Art Foundation (FAF) juried show winners, selected by Heiner Hertling, include:

  • First Place: Dean Rogers;
  • Second Place: Kathleen Boettcher;
  • Third Place: Elaine Silk;
  • Fourth Place: Linda Pelowski;
  • Honorable Mentions: Sharon Daitch, Betty Eliassen, Jan Rappaport, and Chuck Schroeder

The FAF Senior Painter’s award winners include:

  • First Place: Elaine Silk;
  • Second Place: Sharon Daitch;
  • Third Place: Ann Cleary;
  • Honorable Mentions: Don Rohrbach, Jan Rappaport, and Margaret Platte.

The Awards Ceremony, open to all ages, will feature heavy appetizers, desserts, and beverages, a cash bar for ages 21-plus, music by Sean Deason, and performances by the Farmington Hills Youth Theatre, dancer Nina Kobayashi, and the Warner Choir.

Tickets are $10 per person by April 5, or $15 per person beginning April 7, and available at or the Costick Center. For more information, call 248-473-1848.

Reported by