Farmington Schools communications director receives state award

Diane Bauman, APR, Director of School/Community Relations for Farmington Public Schools (FPS), has been named the “2018 Gerri Allen Outstanding School Communicator” by the Michigan School Public Relations Association (MSPRA).

Bauman received the surprise award at the October 2 Farmington Public Schools Board of Education meeting.

Diane Bauman
Anne Cron, MSPRA President-elect, (right) presented Diane Bauman with the 2018 Gerri Allen Outstanding School Communicator Award. (Farmington Public Schools)

In nominating Bauman for the honor, Superintendent George C. Heitsch, wrote:

“When I became the Farmington superintendent in 2014, I quickly recognized the valuable leadership and expertise she provides for all public relations, communications and community issues impacting our District… She is a key member of my Cabinet, and we have come to count on her to ensure that our plans and decisions are communicated to stakeholders clearly, thoroughly, and in a timely fashion.”

In presenting the award, MSPRA President-elect Anne Cron, APR, noted Bauman’s more than 23 years of demonstrated outstanding work, service, and leadership in school communication.

“Diane has not only provided outstanding communication at FPS, her regional impact has included many years of sharing with and mentoring members of the Oakland County Schools’ Public Relations Association (OCSPRA), and she has been a communication leader at the state level with 23 years of service on the MSPRA Board,” she said.

Bauman said she was overwhelmed and touched by the nomination.

“I love this school district and our community,” she said. “I am grateful to work with such incredibly talented and passionate people who strive each day to make the school district and our broader community the best it can be.”

Bauman, who will also be recognized by her peers at the annual MSPRA conference in March, earlier this year received the Learning and Liberty Legacy Award from the National School Public Relations Association (NSPRA). The award honors the contributions of NSPRA members who have had a positive impact on their colleagues’ careers and who work tirelessly behind the scenes on behalf of education and improved communication.

Press release

Reported by