Farmington council chooses mayor, pro tem

Farmington council members on Thursday chose Sara Bowman as the city’s mayor and Joe LaRussa as mayor pro tem.

Bowman and LaRussa were re-elected on November 5; each will serve another four-year term. Former mayor Steven Schneemann also won re-election and will serve a two-year term.

Maria Taylor Johnna Balk David Delind for Farmington city council
Joe LaRussa Sara Bowman
Joe LaRussa and Sara Bowman will lead Farmington city council as mayor pro tem and mayor, respectively.

While voters in Farmington Hills and other cities elect mayors, Farmington’s charter directs council members to choose the top leadership positions from among their ranks, after each election. Bowman and LaRussa had unanimous support.

The top leadership positions are largely ceremonial; the mayor or mayor pro-tem presides over city council meetings and typically represents the city at special events.

Bowman served on the Planning Commission from 2008 until 2015, when she won her first four-year term. She is also the founder of Farmington’s Thanksgiving Day Turkey Trot fun run.

LaRussa won a two-year council term in 2017 and has served on the Farmington Master Plan Committee. He has also been part of a Farmington/Farmington Hills committee exploring municipal broadband.

Reported by