Dedicated Hillside volunteer named Senior Extraordinaire

A long-time Hillside Elementary School volunteer has been named Farmington Public Schools’ Senior Extraordinaire.

Senior Extraordinaire 2019 presentation
Superintendent Robert Herrera presented Martha Maitlen with Farmington Public Schools 2019 Senior Adult Extraordinaire Award. (Farmington Public Schools)

Superintendent Robert Herrera presented Martha Maitlen with the award, which honors senior adults who volunteer their time and talents in the district, during the 23rd Annual Senior Adult Breakfast held last month at the Costick Center in Farmington Hills.

For the past seven years, Maitlen has helped fourth grade teacher Suzanne Burzynski with tasks and projects. She listens to students read, engages them in math games, and helps them with grammar, and helps with classroom parties.

Martha Maitlen
Martha Maitlen is pictured (left) with her nominator Suzanne Burzynski and Superintendent Robert Herrera. (Farmington Public Schools)

“Martha has become part of our crew,” said Burzynski. “Martha has been volunteering in my classroom one to two times a week, for years. She has been an incredible helper in numerous ways.”

“I was shocked to win this award,” Maitlen said. “Working at Hillside has been such a positive experience for me. Suzanne is a sweetheart and we have become friends. I truly enjoy when the students teach me about their cultures.”

The Breakfast is designed to provide senior citizens with an update on the school district and an opportunity for seniors to interact with students and school personnel. This year, the Farmington High School Orchestra, under the direction of Ted McDonald, and the North Farmington High School Choir, under the direction of Jason Debant, entertained guests.

Past winners of the Senior Adult Extraordinaire award include: Loretta Keller, Betty Bemis, John Weigel, Lorice Khoury, Bob Long, Dianne Long, Nancy Waldman, Ray Okonski, Marge Whittemore, Nancy Leflar, Michael Liebowitz, Diane DeSousa, Allan Whittemore, Virginia Starr, Lincoln Avery, Leona Goetzke, Demetra Mehas, Tina Mehas and Toula Mehas.

Reported by